Comparison

Rental car inspection apps, compared

Several tools help you document a rental car. They don’t all do the same thing: some are paid, some are iPhone only, few send the record to the rental company. Here is what each one states on its own site.

Try RPA for free In your browser, no account to start
What each tool states publicly
ToolPriceInstallVideo and voiceSent to the company at pickupIndependent seal
RentalProof (RPA)FreeBrowserYesYesYes, Bitcoin, included
Rental Car ProofFirst rental free, then paidiOS, Android appPhotosNot statedNot stated
Proofr3-day trial, then subscriptioniOS appPhotosNot statedNot stated
CarInsuRent AIFree (tied to insurance)BrowserPhotosNot statedNot stated
ProofNest3 free cases, paid sealiOS, Android appPhotosNoYes, Bitcoin, paid
HorodatyAccount requiredWeb, appPhotosNoYes, eIDAS certified

Taken from each tool’s public website on 3 November 2026. Offers change: check each provider’s current terms. “Not stated” means we did not find it.

A free alternative to Rental Car Proof

Rental Car Proof is a polished app with guided photos and a PDF evidence pack, free for a first rental and paid after that. RPA covers the same ground with a narrated video, free on every rental, with nothing to install, and sends the report to the rental company at pickup.

RentalProof or Proofr

Proofr is an iPhone app with AI damage detection, on a subscription after a trial. RPA also works on Android, in English, French and Spanish, with no subscription, and adds a seal anyone can verify.

When to choose a certified timestamp

If you need a qualified eIDAS timestamp, which carries a legal presumption in the EU, a service like Horodaty fits. For an everyday rental condition check, RPA gives strong, immediate, free evidence.

Questions

Which free app is best?

It depends on what you need. If you want a free tool on every rental, with nothing to install, that sends the record to the rental company, that is what RPA was built for.

Is this information up to date?

It was taken from each tool’s public website on 3 November 2026. Offers change, so always check the provider’s own site.